Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation


Exhibition:

Ralf Brueck

NRW-Forum Duesseldorf

25 June – 21 August 2016

 

The third show of the new exhibition format ".ftlbr" will showcase Ralf Brueck, a young representative of the Düsseldorf School of Photography. Besides works from his series "Deutsch Amerikanische Freundschaft“ [German American Friendship], in which the Düsseldorf School meets influences from New Color Photography, the exhibition will also show new cycles of works that are concerned with digital manipulation.

The exhibition is curated by Ralph Goertz created in cooperation with the IKS – Institute for Art Documentation.

 

 

 

Ralf Brueck ranks among those representatives of the Düsseldorf School of Photography who, on one hand, studied under Bernd Becher and, on the other hand, learned visual language from the "first generation": For example Andreas Gursky, Thomas Struth or Candida Höfer. The series "Deutsch Amerikanische Freundschaft“ (DAF) forms the basis of this exhibition. Artistically, in this series, Ralf Brueck echoed not only the work of the exponents of New Color Photography but also the American photographs by Thomas Struth or Joachim Brohm.

 

 

Apart from the DAF series, there will also be new photographs from the "Distortion" and "Dekonstruktion“ series on view. They critically examine the medium through their deliberate manipulations and digital editing.

 

 

Publication:

Begleitend zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog im Wienand Verlag, herausgegeben von Ralph Goertz, mit Beiträgen von

The exhibition will be accompanied by a publication, edited by Ralph Goertz, with texts by Stefan Gronert, Candida Höfer, Ralph Goertz, Sabine Maria Schmidt (38,00 Euro, ISBN 978-3-86832-308-5).

 

Photographs © Ralf Brueck

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram

Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation


Ausstellung:

Ralf Brueck

NRW-Forum Düsseldorf

25. Juni – 21. August 2016

 

Mit der dritten Ausgabe des neuen Ausstellungsformat ".ftlbr" präsentieren das NRW-Forum mit Ralf Brueck einen jungen Vertreter der Düsseldorfer Fotoschule. Neben Arbeiten aus der Serie „Deutsch Amerikanische Freundschaft“, in denen die Düsseldorfer Schule auf Einflüsse der New Color Photography trifft, zeigt die Ausstellung neue Werkzyklen, die sich mit digitalen Bildeingriffen beschäftigen.

Die Ausstellung, kuratiert von Ralph Goertz, entsteht in Kooperation mit dem IKS – Institut für Kunstdokumentation.

 

 

 

Ralf Brueck zählt zu den Vertretern der Düsseldorfer Fotoschule, die einerseits noch bei Bernd Becher studierten, andererseits ihre Bildsprache bei den Vertretern der „ersten Generation“ wie Andreas Gursky, Thomas Struth oder Candida Höfer erlernten. Grundlage der Ausstellung ist die Serie „Deutsch Amerikanische Freundschaft“ (DAF), mit der Ralf Brueck sich künstlerisch an den Vertretern der New Color Photography, aber auch an den Amerika-Bildern von Thomas Struth oder Joachim Brohm anlehnt.

 

 

Neben der DAF-Serie sind auch die neueren Serien „Distortion“ und „Dekonstruktion“ zu sehen, die durch bewusste Eingriffe und digitale Bearbeitungen das Medium hinterfragen.

 

 

Katalog:

Begleitend zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog im Wienand Verlag, herausgegeben von Ralph Goertz, mit Beiträgen von Ralph Goertz, Stefan Gronert, Candida Höfer, Sabine Maria Schmidt (38,00 Euro, ISBN 978-3-86832-308-5).

 

Fotos: © Ralf Brueck

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram