Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation

Facing Britain

British documentary photography since the1960s

 

Facing Britain is the first exhibition produced and curated by the new IKS Photo Department and available as a touring exhibition. An individually curated exhibition will be put together for each venue, which will be combined with new positions, also to be open for new photographers and themes! For further infromations, you are welcome to contact us!

 

27 September – 8 November 2020

Museum Goch

 

autumn 2021

Kunsthalle Darmstadt

 

spring / summer 2022

Mönchehaus Museum Goslar

 

 

Installation view Museum Goch

 

"World-class"

Corinna Denzer-Schmidt, Niederrhein Nachrichten

 

Foto: John Myers. Mr Jackson, 1974 © John Myers

 

Facing Britain brings together for the first time almost all important representatives* of British documentary photography in a large overview exhibition outside the UK.

 

Long forgotten and only recently rediscovered positions such as John Myers, Tish Murtha or Peter Mitchell are shown alongside works by world stars such as Martin Parr. The show thus offers a unique insight into the developments in the field of photography in the United Kingdom, which are interwoven with continental Europe and North America, but also independent of them. The documentary aspect proves to be one of the great strengths of British photography, which is capable of depicting a part of Europe in transition in a multifaceted, surprising and artistically original way. Facing Britain was therefore deliberately chosen as a temporal bracket for the period of Britain's membership of the European Union and its forerunner between1963 till 2020. Particularly in view of the current Corona pandemic, the exhibition proves to be a break in the artistic development of an entire nation.

 

Poto: Homer Sykes. Family outing the derby horse race, 1970s © Homer Sykes

 

It describes the various epochs from the decline of the coal industry, the Thatcher era with the Falkland conflict, the Brexit that split the island into two parts. A special focus is on the 1970s and 1980s, which were influenced by David Hurn, Tish Murtha, Daniel Meadows and Martin Parr, when artistic documentary photography gained an importance worldwide. Martin Parr describes these decades as:

 

„A formative period for British photography, in which the strength of the documentary movement really came alive“.

 

Martin Parr. New Brighton. From 'The Last Resort'. 1983-85 © Martin Parr / Magnum Photos

 

Anna Fox, Barry Lewis, Paul Reas. Museum Goch

 

"Loving portait of the unique foreignness of Great Britain"

Franz Geib, Gocher Wochenblatt

 

Early on, Parr had knowledge of the work propagated in the Rhine and Ruhr metropolises of Duesseldorf, Cologne and Essen, which also influenced John Myers, Anna Fox and Paul Hill. In England, the work of David Hurn, Chris Killip, John Myers or Daniel Meadows, which was less well known in this country, was regarded as the photographic reference. The photographer Tony Ray-Jones, who died early in 1972, was considered the British Garry Winogrand and pioneer of contemporary photography in Great Britain with his impulsive and direct street photography.

 

 

Photo: Daniel Meadows. The Brasher sisters, left: Lyn, right: Stella, Southampton. May 1974 © Daniel Meadows

 

In contrast to the United States - where the first large-scale photo exhibitions such as Family of Man (curated by Edward Steichen, 1955) or The Photographer's Eye (curated by John Szarkowsky, 1964) were already held at the MoMA in New York. In Germany, the Deutscher Werkbund already showed Foto und Film in 1929 in Stuttgart, an overview exhibition on the working and application areas of photography and film. Artistic photography in Germany only achieved its breakthrough, however, with its presentation at documenta 5 (1972) in Kassel.

 

Photo: Black Copper, London 1985 © Dave Sinclair

 

 

Syd Shelton, Dave Sinclair, Homer Sykes. Museum Goch

 

"Remarkable exhibition!"

Stephan Hermssen, NRZ, culture

 

In Great Britain, photography was not considered an autonomous art form until the 1980s. Not even before 1985 British photographers were honoured with exhibitions at the Photographer's Gallery and Barbican Art Gallery in London or the British Council. Only individual photographers such as Tony Ray-Jones or Peter Mitchell were honored with small solo exhibitions from 1969/70 on. The first major survey exhibition on British documentary photography in Great Britain did not take place until 2007 under the title How We Are: Photographing Britain at the Tate Britain, London. Subsequently, the British Council's exhibition No Such Thing As Society: Photography in Britain 1967-1987 toured the UK, Poland and Sweden from 2008 to 2010.

 

David Hurn. Tenby. Castle Hillat the elegant seaside town of Tenby, South Wales. 1974 © David Hurn / Magnum Photos

 

This late tribute to the pioneers of British documentary photography also demonstrated the difficulties of photography in Britain. British photography - apart from its established Magnum photographers such as David Hurn or Martin Parr - had difficulties to assert itself on the international market, not least because of its socially critical or political content and socially critical approaches, which are unmistakable in the work of Ken Grant, Tish Murtha, Homer Sykes, Paul Reas or Anna Fox.

 

Photo: Anna Fox. Fortunes are being made that are in line with the dreams of avarice. Business, 1987 © Anna Fox

 

"Remarkable exhibition!"

Stephan Hermssen, NRZ, culture

 

Facing Britain presents a portrait of the unique foreignness of Great Britain - divided, unequal and interspersed with classes, but marked by deep affection, humanity and humour. The photographs speak for themselves, bear witness to artistic concepts and attitudes and convey historical contexts. They call for a view of today's United Kingdom beyond the clichés. Inequality and identity are still the key concepts that dominate the nation and define what makes the exhibition more relevant than ever. Previously virulent themes such as youth unemployment, the decline of the mining industry or protest and demonstration against the policies of Margaret Thatcher are historically illuminated in the exhibition and critically questioned by the participating photographers.

 

Photo: Rob Bremner. Vauxhall, Liverpool, 1987 © Rob Bremner

 

Recent works by Kirsty Mackay, Paul Reas, Robert Darch or Niall McDiramid also reflect current issues on topics such as gender justice, consumer society, Brexit or migration.

 

Photo: Paul Reas. from the series ‘I Can Help’. A critical view of consumer culture. 1988 © Paul Reas

 

Photo: Babington Lane, Derby - June 2014 © Niall McDiarmid

 

Robert Darch, Mohamed Hassan. Museum Goch

 

Niall McDiarmid. Museum Goch

 

Another important aspect of the exhibition will be the first view on photographers of colour who brought their distinctive perspective to British documentary photography and how they gave their own subject matter an artistic voice.

 

Rock Against Racism/Anti Nazi League Carnival Against the Nazis Potternewton Park Leeds 1981 © Syd Shelton

 

The exhibition Facing Britain is curated by Ralph Goertz, who has already presented exhibitions such as Martin Parr Retrospective, Two Rivers. Alec Soth / Joachim Brohm, Joel Meyerowitz Retrospective, Peter Lindbergh / Garry Winogrand: Women at the NRW-Forum Duesseldorf, Axel Hütte. Night and Day at the Museum Kunstpalast or currently Subject and Object. Foto Rhein Ruhr at the Kunsthalle Duesseldorf.

 

The list of photographers will be open till the exhibition starts:

Meredith Andrews, James Barnor, John Bulmer, Rob Bremner, Thom Corbishley, Robert Darch, Anna Fox, Henry Grant, Ken Grant, Judy Greenway, Mohamed Hassan, Paul Hill, David Hurn, Tony-Ray Jones, Neil Kenlock, Markéta Luskačová, Kirsty Mackay, Niall McDiarmid, Daniel Meadows, Peter Mitchel, David Moore, Tish Murtha, John Myers, Mark Neville, Jon Nicholson, Kevin O'Farrell, Martin Parr, Mark Pinder, Paul Reas, Simon Roberts, Syd Shelton, Dave Sinclair, Chris Steele-Perkins, Homer Sykes, Jon Tonks, Tom Wood and others.

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram

Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation

Facing Britain

Britische Dokumentarfotografie seit den 1960er Jahren

 

Facing Britain ist die erste Ausstellung der neuen Fotoabteilung des IKS und entsteht als Touring Exhibition in Zusammenarbeit mit Partner-Institutionen. Für jede Station wird eine individuell kuratierte Ausstellung zusammengestellt, die mit neuen Positionen kombiniert wird, auch um offen zu sein für neue Fotograf*innen und Themen!

Falls Sie weitere Informationen wünschen, freuen wir uns auf Ihre Anfrage!

 

27.09. – 8.11.2020

Museum Goch

 

Herbst 2021

Kunsthalle Darmstadt

 

Frühjahr / Sommer 2022

Mönchehaus Museum Goslar

 

 

Installationsansicht Museum Goch

 

"Weltklasse"

Corinna Denzer-Schmidt, Niederrhein Nachrichten

 

Foto: John Myers. Mr Jackson, 1974 © John Myers

 

Facing Britain vereint erstmals nahezu alle wichtigen Vertreter*Innen der Britischen Dokumentarfotografie in einer großen Übersichts-Ausstellung außerhalb Großbritanniens.

 

Lange vergessene und erst in den letzten Jahren wiederentdeckte Positionen wie John Myers, Tish Murtha oder Peter Mitchell werden neben Arbeiten von Weltstars wie Martin Parr gezeigt. Die Schau bietet so einen einzigartigen Einblick in die mit Kontinentaleuropa und Nordamerika verflochtenen, aber auch unabhängigen Entwicklungen auf dem Feld der Fotografie im Vereinigten Königreich.

Das Dokumentarische erweist sich als eine der großen Stärken der britischen Fotografie, die einen Teil Europas im Wandel facettenreich, überraschend und künstlerisch originell abzubilden vermag. Als zeitliche Klammer für Facing Britain wurde daher bewusst die Zeitspanne der Mitgliedschaft Großbritanniens in der Europäischen Union und ihres Vorläufers 1963-2020 gewählt. Insbesondere unter dem Gesichtspunkt der aktuellen Corona-Pandemie, erweist sich die Ausstellung als Zäsur in der künstlerischen Entwicklung einer ganzen Nation.

 

Foto: Homer Sykes. Family outing the derby horse race, 1970s © Homer Sykes

 

Beschrieben werden die verschiedenen Epochen vom Niedergang der Kohleindustrie über die Thatcher-Ära mit dem Falkland-Konflikt bis hin zum Brexit, der die Insel in zwei Lager spaltet. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt auf den von David Hurn, Tish Murtha, Daniel Meadows und Martin Parr geprägten 1970er und 1980er Jahren, als die künstlerische Dokumentarfotografie weltweit an Bedeutung gewinnt. Martin Parr beschreibt diese Jahrzehnte als:

 

„Eine prägende Zeit für die britische Fotografie, in der die Stärke der Dokumentarbewegung wirklich lebendig wurde.“

 

Martin Parr. New Brighton. From 'The Last Resort'. 1983-85 © Martin Parr / Magnum Photos

 

Anna Fox, Barry Lewis, Paul Reas. Museum Goch

 

"Liebevolles Porträt der Fremdartigkeit"

Franz Geib, Gocher Wochenblatt

 

Schon früh hatte Parr Kenntnis von der Arbeit in den Rhein und Ruhr Metropolen Düsseldorf, Köln und Essen propagierten Konzeptfotografie, die auch auf John Myers, Anna Fox und Paul Hill Einfluss hatte. In England galt das hierzulande weniger bekannte Werk von David Hurn, Chris Killip, John Myers oder Daniel Meadows als die fotografische Referenz. Der 1972 früh verstorbene Fotograf Tony Ray-Jones galt mit seiner impulsiven direkten Straßenfotografie als britischer Garry Winogrand und Wegbereiter der zeitgenössischen Fotografie in Großbritannien.

 

Foto: Daniel Meadows. The Brasher sisters, left: Lyn, right: Stella, Southampton. May 1974 © Daniel Meadows

 

Anders als in den USA - dort fanden bereits die ersten groß angelegten Fotoausstellung wie „Family of Man“ (kuratiert von Edward Steichen, 1955) oder „The Photographer’s Eye (kuratiert von John Szarkowsky, 1964) im MoMA in New York statt. In Deutschland zeigte der Deutsche Werkbund bereits 1929 in Stuttgart mit „Foto und Film“ eine Übersichtsausstellung zu den Arbeits- und Anwendungsgebieten von Fotografie und Film. Den Durchbruch erlangte die künstlerische Fotografie in Deutschland allerdings erst mit der Präsentation auf der documenta 5 (1972) in Kassel.

 

Foto: Black Copper, London 1985 © Dave Sinclair

 

Syd Shelton, Dave Sinclair, Homer Sykes. Museum Goch

 

"Bemerkenswerte Ausstellung!"

Stephan Hermssen, NRZ, Kultur

 

In Großbritannien galt die Fotografie bis in die 1980er Jahre nicht als autonome Kunstform. Erst ab 1985 wurden Britische Fotografe*Innen in der Photographer‘s Gallery und Barbican Art Gallery in London oder dem British Council mit Ausstellungen gewürdigt. Lediglich einzelne Fotografen wie Tony Ray-Jones oder Peter Mitchell wurden bereits ab 1969/70 mit kleinen Einzelausstellungen bedacht. Die erste große Überblicks-Ausstellung zur Britischen Dokumentarfotografie in Großbritannien fand erst 2007 unter dem Titel How We Are: Photographing Britain in der Tate Britain, London statt. Im Anschluss daran tourte die Ausstellung des British Council No Such Thing As Society: Photography in Britain 1967-1987 von 2008 bis 2010 durch Großbritannien, Polen und Schweden.
 

David Hurn. Tenby. Castle Hillat the elegant seaside town of Tenby, South Wales. 1974 © David Hurn / Magnum Photos

 

Diese späte Ehrung der Pioniere der Britischen Dokumentarfotografie zeigte auch die Schwierigkeiten der Fotografie in Großbritannien. Insgesamt fällt es der Britischen Fotografie – abseits ihrer arrivierten Magnum-Fotografen wie David Hurn oder Martin Parr – schwer, sich auf dem internationalen Markt zu behaupten –, nicht zuletzt auch wegen der sozialkritischen oder politischen Inhalte und gesellschaftskritischen Ansätze, die etwa bei Ken Grant, Tish Murtha, Homer Sykes, Paul Reas oder Anna Fox unverkennbar sind.

 

Foto: Anna Fox. Fortunes are being made that are in line with the dreams of avarice. Business, 1987 © Anna Fox

 

Facing Britain präsentiert ein Porträt der einzigartigen Fremdartigkeit Großbritanniens - geteilt, ungleich und von Klassen durchzogen, jedoch geprägt von tiefer Zuneigung, Menschlichkeit und Humor. Die Aufnahmen sprechen für sich, legen Zeugnis von künstlerischen Konzepten und Haltungen ab und vermitteln historische Kontexte. Sie fordern eine Sicht auf das heutige Vereinigte Königreich abseits der Klischees ein. Ungleichheit und Identität sind nach wie vor die Schlüsselbegriffe, welche die Nation dominieren und definieren, was die Ausstellung aktueller denn je erscheinen lässt. Früher virulente Themen wie Jugendarbeitslosigkeit, Niedergang der Bergbauindustrie oder Protest und Demonstration gegen die Politik von Margaret Thatcher, werden in der Ausstellung historisch beleuchtet und durch die beteiligten Fotograf*innen kritisch hinterfragt.

 

Foto: Rob Bremner. Vauxhall, Liverpool, 1987 © Rob Bremner

 

In den jüngsten Arbeiten von Kirsty Mackay, Paul Reas, Robert Darch oder Niall McDiramid spiegeln sich auch aktuelle Fragestellungen zu Themen wie Gendergerechtigkeit, Konsumgesellschaft, Brexit oder Migration.

 

Foto: Paul Reas. aus der Serie ‘I Can Help’. A critical view of consumer culture. 1988 © Paul Reas

 

Foto: Babington Lane, Derby - June 2014 © Niall McDiarmid

 

Robert Darch, Mohamed Hassan. Museum Goch

 

Ein weiterer wichtiger Aspekt der Ausstellung wird der erste Blick auf Fotograf*innen und Impulse des "Black Britain" sein, die ihre unverwechselbare Perspektive in die britische Dokumentarfotografie einbrachten und ihren eigenen Themen eine künstlerische Stimme verliehen.

 

Rock Against Racism/Anti Nazi League Carnival Against the Nazis Potternewton Park Leeds 1981 © Syd Shelton

 

Die Ausstellung Facing Britain wurde kuratiert von Ralph Goertz, der bereits Ausstellungen wie die „Martin Parr Retrospective“, „Two Rivers. Alec Soth / Joachim Brohm“, „Joel Meyerowitz Retrospective“, „Peter Lindbergh / Garry Winogrand: Women“ im NRW-Forum Düsseldorf, „Axel Hütte. Night and Day“ im Museum Kunstpalast oder aktuell „Subjekt und Objekt. Foto Rhein Ruhr“ in der Kunsthalle Düsseldorf realisierte.

 

Die Liste der beteiligten Fotograf*innen wird stetig erweitert:

Meredith Andrews, James Barnor, John Bulmer, Rob Bremner, Thom Corbishley, Robert Darch, Anna Fox, Henry Grant, Ken Grant, Judy Greenway, Mohamed Hassan, Paul Hill, David Hurn, Tony-Ray Jones, Neil Kenlock, Markéta Luskačová, Kirsty Mackay, Niall McDiarmid, Daniel Meadows, Peter Mitchel, David Moore, Tish Murtha, John Myers, Mark Neville, Jon Nicholson, Kevin O'Farrell, Martin Parr, Mark Pinder, Paul Reas, Simon Roberts, Syd Shelton, Dave Sinclair, Chris Steele-Perkins, Homer Sykes, Jon Tonks, Tom Wood und weitere.

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram