Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation


SUBJECT and OBJECT.

PHOTO RHINE RUHR

5 May - 16 Aug 2020

Kunsthalle Düsseldorf

Curated by Ralph Goertz with Gregor Jansen and Dana Bergmann

 

For the first time, the exhibition SUBJECT and OBJECT. PHOTO RHINE RUHR will examine the relationships between the different photographic positions that have developed in the cities of the Rhineland as well as the Ruhr and at the regions’ art academies since the 1960s. The exhibition also presents central positions from three generations as well as similarities and differences between the artistic approaches, with a focus on positions that have received less attention. Subject and Object. Photo Rhine Ruhr with about 100 artists and more than 600 works undertakes a dialogic and thought-provoking examination of this development for the first time.

 

"Never seen so much photography before"

Georg Imdahl, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

 

The Standard Los Angeles, 2000 © Candida Höfer / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020

 

"Feast for photography. An exhibition in Düsseldorf deals with

 photography from this region and poses exciting questions such as:

 Have there ever been objective photography?"

  Peter Backof, Deutschlandfunk

 

This unique approach is due to the fact that such a rich photography scene was able to develop in western Germany, which has repeatedly produced new and innovative artistic positions with sometimes very different photographic approaches over the past 70 years. According to the thesis, on the one hand this is due to the density of art academies and trade schools that developed in the Rhine and Ruhr regions after the Second World War. On the other hand, it is also a result of artistic socialization through an intensive art-historical discourse, parallel artistic developments within the visual arts, and the engagement with positions of international art that were shown at the major institutions in Düsseldorf, Essen, Cologne, Krefeld, and Mönchengladbach.

 

"Subject and Object. Foto Rhein Ruhr" was named "Best Exhibition" in the NRW Museum Survey 2020 by Welt am Sonntag.

 

Installation "Kinosaal"

 

An independent photo class was established in the 1970s at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf with Bernd and Hilla Becher. At what is now the Folkwang University of the Arts in Essen, where a photo class led by Max Burchartz existed as early as the 1920s (parallel to the developments at the Bauhaus in Dessau), photography was once again taught as an independent specialization starting in 1959, initially under Otto Steinert. Thus, two of the most internationally influential schools of photography emerged in close proximity to each other in Germany.

 

"Sensational Photo Exhibition"

(Helga Meister, Westdeutsche Zeitung)

 

Thomas Ruff. L’Empereur_06, 1982. Aus der Serie: L’Empereur © Thomas Ruff / VG Bildkunst, Bonn 2020

 

In the vicinity of these two cities, there are further influential institutions with earlier art schools in Krefeld and Cologne in the 1960s and 1970s, where Arno Jansen served as head of the art and photography departments. In addition to the Folkwangschule in Essen and the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, the Kunsthochschule für Medien, which was founded in the 1990s, is another important site for photography in Cologne, where Beate Gütschow has been teaching artistic photography since 2011, following Jürgen Klauke and Tobias Zielony.

 

"The Düsseldorf Academy is considered to be a pioneer in the development of photography as an art form. Now an exhibition shows: Pioneering work was not only done on the Rhine, but also on the Ruhr."

WELT, Christiane Hoffmans

 

Timm Rautert, Josef Steinhausen, 47 Jahre, Seine Totalität Jupp I., Prinz Karneval der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf , 1974

From the series "Germans in uniorms"

 

"A visual school for the curious who can enjoy the references and developments."

Helga Meister, Westdeutsche Zeitung

 

Knut Wolfgang Maron, Guckaisee, 1981 © Knut Wolfgang Maron

 

Many thanks to Helge Drafz from WDR TV for his first inside view during the setup!

 

Installation "Kinosaal"

 

The teachers’ works exhibit different perspectives on the medium of photography, especially in the artistic context. In Essen there was Otto Steinert with his approach of “subjective photography.” In Düsseldorf, Bernd and Hilla Becher, who followed a conceptual approach out of which a photographic practice developed that can also be seen in the tradition of the New Objectivity of the 1920s. In Cologne, in addition to Alfred Will, who was strongly oriented toward the ideas of the German Werkbund and initially trained as a graphic designer, there was Arno Jansen, who dealt with new artistic possibilities of the medium of photography in addition to the traditional genres such as portraits and still lifes. In Krefeld there was Detlef Orlopp, whose work explored abstraction and the process of recognition through the gaze in hyper-precise photographs. The extent to which teachers in the Rhineland and the Ruhr proclaimed their own artistic work and the subjective or objective photographic approach and thus shaped several generations of young photographers to this day will be discussed and highlighted in the exhibition.

 

Installation "Kinosaal"

 

The Bechers’ legendary class with now internationally celebrated “students” such as Andreas Gursky, Candida Höfer, Thomas Ruff, and Thomas Struth as the Düsseldorf School of Photography is one of the most successful movements in the history of photography. Graduates from Essen with Timm Rautert and Joachim Brohm are known and respected around the world for their documentary and artistic approaches. Jürgen Klauke, Astrid Klein, and Rudolf Bonvie developed independent artistic approaches in Cologne which dealt with issues of identity and gender beginning in the late 1960s. At the same time, Katharina Sieverding created her feminist-influenced art in Düsseldorf.

 

Installationsansicht "Empore"

 

For the first time central positions from all three generations as well as similarities and differences between the artistic approaches will be presented, but above all also positions that have received less attention will be featured and discussed in this context.

 

"Such a great photo art scene at the region of Rhine and Ruhr"

Stefan Lüddemann, Neue Osnabrücker Zeitung

 

Installationsansicht "Empore"

 

The Kunsthalle Düsseldorf hosted an exhibition by Bernd and Hilla Becher in 1969 under the title Anonymous Sculptures as well as a major solo exhibition with works by Andreas Gursky in 1998. Following in this tradition, and with a clear focus on artistic photography, SUBJECT and OBJECT. PHOTO RHINE RUHR explores the different fields of experimentation in the medium between subject and object.

 

Installation "Seitenlichtsaal", photo: Katja Illner

 

Since the 1920s, not only in Germany, a visually striking spirit of capturing reality through photography has emerged, in which the elementary questions about the significance and meaning of the supposedly real image continue to be asked—especially with regard to the emergence of digital photography and its possibilities for manipulating the real.

 

A catalog in German and English will be published alongside the exhibition.

Curated by Ralph Goertz with Gregor Jansen and Dana Bergmann

 

Real teamwork on planning the wall design

 

"The large-sized catalog is an excellent billow of an artistic era in Germany, which has not yet been given adequate consideration, with many quotes from sources. A black hole is closed. Must be seen!"

Klaus Honnef

 

The catalogue has been publishes by Koenig books

 

Artists:

Gosbert Adler, Alexander Basile, Lothar Baumgarten, Bernd & Hilla Becher, Max Beck, Boris Becker, Laurenz Berges, Eva Bertram, Anna + Bernhard Blume, Rudolf Bonvie, Natascha Borowsky, Wendelin Bottländer, Frank Breuer, Joachim Brohm, Ralf Brueck, Susanne Brügger, Louisa Clement, Volker Döhne, Sabine Dusend, Christine Erhard, Jan Paul Evers, Julian Faulhaber, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Annette Frick, Bernhard Fuchs, André Gelpke, Edith Glischke, Philipp Goldbach, Stefanie Grebe, Andreas Gursky, Willy Gursky, Beate Gütschow, Jitka Hanzlová, Volker Heinze, Katlen Hewel, Candida Höfer, Axel Hütte, Arno Jansen, Bernd Jansen, Irmel Kamp, Jürgen Klauke, Astrid Klein, Fatih Kurceren, Alwin Lay, Tamara Lorenz, Knut Wolfgang Maron, Meisterklasse Timm Rautert 2005 (Frank Berger, Viktoria Binschtok, Kristleifur Björnsson, Florian Ebner, Ulrich Gebert, Göran Gnaudschun, Falk Haberkorn, Sven Johne, Stephanie Kiwitt, Alexej Meschtschanow, Ricarda Roggan, Adrian Sauer, Dirk Scheidt, Linda Weiss, Tobias Zielony), Klaus Mettig, Peter Miller, Christopher Muller, Angela Neuke, Thomas Neumann, Simone Nieweg, Elisabeth Neudörfl, Detlef Orlopp, Peter Piller, Johannes Post, Timm Rautert, Max Regenberg, Johanna Reich, Heinrich Riebesehl, Sebastian Riemer, Andrea Robbins + Max Becher, Alexander Romey, Tata Ronkholz, Martin Rosswog, Thomas Ruff, Gregor Sailer, Jörg Sasse, Martina Sauter, Morgaine Schäfer, Michael Schmidt, Stefan Schneider, Berit Schneidereit, Ursula Schulz-Dornburg, Wilhelm Schürmann, Helmut Schweizer, Katharina Sieverding, Otto Steinert, Thomas Struth, Anett Stuth, Niklas Taleb, Peter Thomann, Anna Vogel, Walter Vogel, Malte Wandel, Moritz Wegwerth, Christoph Westermeier, Christopher Williams, Petra Wittmar, Lothar Wolleh, Martin Zellerhoff

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram

Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation


SUBJEKT und OBJEKT.

FOTO RHEIN RUHR

5.05. - 16.08.2020

Kunsthalle Düsseldorf

Kuratiert von Ralph Goertz mit Gregor Jansen und Dana Bergmann

 

Die Ausstellung SUBJEKT und OBJEKT. FOTO RHEIN RUHR betrachtet erstmalig die Bezüge der unterschiedlichen fotografischen Positionen, die sich im Gebiet der rheinländischen Metropolen sowie dem Ruhrgebiet und den dort ansässigen Kunsthochschulen seit den 1960er-Jahren herausgebildet haben. Sie vereint darüber hinaus zentrale Positionen dreier Künstlergenerationen und zeigt erstmals die Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede ihrer künstlerischen Ansätze. Vor allem werden aber auch bisher weniger betrachtete Positionen in diesem Kontext präsentiert. Mit rund 100 Künstler*innen und mehr als 600 Werken unternimmt die Ausstellung erstmals eine dialogische und impulsgebende Untersuchung dieser Entwicklung.

 

"So viel Fotografie war nie"

Georg Imdahl, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

 

The Standard Los Angeles, 2000 © Candida Höfer / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020

 

"Fest der Fotografie. Eine Ausstellung in Düsseldorf setzt sich mit

 der Fotografie aus dieser Region auseinander und stellt spannende

 Fragen, wie: Gab es jemals objektive Fotografie?"

  Peter Backof, Deutschlandfunk

 

Das Besondere an diesem Ansatz ist dem Umstand geschuldet, dass sich im Westen Deutschlands eine vielfältige Fotoszene entwickeln konnte, welche über die letzten 70 Jahre immer wieder neue und innovative künstlerische Positionen mit zum Teil sehr unterschiedlichen fotografischen Ansätzen hervorgebracht hat. Dies geht, so die These, einerseits auf die Dichte der Kunsthochschulen und Werkschulen zurück, die sich an Rhein und Ruhr nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg herausbildeten. Andererseits aber auch auf die künstlerische Sozialisation durch einen intensiven kunsthistorischen Diskurs, die parallel stattfindende künstlerische Entwicklung innerhalb der bildenden Kunst und die Auseinandersetzung mit Positionen der internationalen Kunst, die in den großen Institutionen in Düsseldorf, Essen, Köln, Krefeld und Mönchengladbach gezeigt wurden.

 

Installationsansicht "Kinosaal"

 

An der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf wurde in den 1970er-Jahren mit Bernd und Hilla Becher eine eigenständige Fotoklasse gegründet.

An der heutigen Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen, wo bereits in den 1920er-Jahren eine Fotoklasse unter der Leitung von Max Burchartz (parallel zu u.a. den Entwicklungen im Bauhaus in Dessau) existierte, wird seit 1959 wieder Fotografie, zunächst unter Otto Steinert, in einem eigenständigen Studiengang gelehrt. Somit befinden sich zwei der international einflussreichsten Ausbildungsstätten für Fotografie in Deutschland in unmittelbarer Nähe zueinander.

 

"Sensationelle Fotoschau"

(Helga Meister, Westdeutsche Zeitung)

 

Thomas Ruff. L’Empereur_06, 1982. Aus der Serie: L’Empereur © Thomas Ruff / VG Bildkunst, Bonn 2020

 

Richtet man seinen Blick ins direkte Umfeld dieser beiden Städte, so findet man in den 1960er- und 1970er-Jahren weitere einflussreiche Ausbildungsstätten mit früheren Werkkunstschulen in Krefeld, Bielefeld, Dortmund oder Köln. Neben der „Folkwangschule“ in Essen und der Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf bildet die in den 1990er-Jahren gegründete Kunsthochschule für Medien heute einen weiteren wichtigen Fotografie-Standort in Köln, an der in der Nachfolge von Jürgen Klauke und Tobias Zielony seit 2011 Beate Gütschow künstlerische Fotografie lehrt.

 

"Die Düsseldorfer Akademie gilt als wegweisend für die Entwicklung der Fotografie als Kunstform. Nun zeigt eine Ausstellung: Nicht nur am Rhein, auch an der Ruhr wurde Pionierarbeit geleistet."

WELT, Christiane Hoffmans

 

Timm Rautert, Josef Steinhausen, 47 Jahre, Seine Totalität Jupp I., Prinz Karneval der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf , 1974

Aus der Serie "Deutsche in Uniorm" © Timm Rautert

 

"Eine Sehschule für Neugierige, die die Verweise und Entwicklungen genießen können."

Helga Meister, Westdeutsche Zeitung

 

Knut Wolfgang Maron, Guckaisee, 1981 © Knut Wolfgang Maron

 

Danke an Helge Drafz, der uns für die WDR Lokalzeit während des Aufbaus begleitet hat!

Auch Peter Backof hat uns für Corso im Deutschlandfunk während des Aufbaus besucht. Danke!

 

Installationsansicht "Kinosaal"

 

In den Werken der Lehrenden finden sich hier bereits unterschiedliche Sichtweisen auf das Medium der Fotografie, insbesondere im künstlerischen Kontext. In Essen Otto Steinert, mit seinem Ansatz einer „subjektiven Fotografie“. In Düsseldorf Bernd und Hilla Becher, welche einen konzeptuellen Ansatz verfolgten, aus dem sich eine fotografische Praxis, auch zu sehen in der Tradition der neusachlichen Fotografie der 1920er-Jahre, entwickelte. In Köln unterrichtete Arno Jansen bis 1993 (künstlerische) Fotografie, sein fotografisches Schaffen prägen klassische Bildgattungen wie das Porträt oder Stillleben. Daneben lehrte Alfred Will freie Grafik, der sich stark an den Ideen des Deutschen Werkbunds orientierte. In Krefeld Detlef Orlopp, dessen Werk die Abstraktion und den Erkenntnisprozess des Blicks in hyperpräzisen Fotografien durchdeklinierte. Inwiefern die Lehrenden im Rheinland und Ruhrgebiet ihr eigenes künstlerisches Werk und die jeweils subjektive und objektive fotografische Herangehensweise proklamierten und damit bis heute mehrere Generationen junger Fotograf*innen prägten, soll in der Ausstellung diskutiert und aufgezeigt werden.

 

Installationsansicht "Kinosaal"

 

So ist die legendäre Becher-Klasse mit heute international gefeierten „Schüler*innen“ wie Andreas Gursky, Candida Höfer, Thomas Ruff und Thomas Struth als Düsseldorfer Fotoschule eine der erfolgreichsten Strömungen der Fotografiegeschichte. Die Essener Absolvent*innen mit Timm Rautert und Joachim Brohm sind für ihre dokumentarisch-künstlerischen Ansätze weltweit bekannt und hochgeschätzt. In Köln entwickelten Jürgen Klauke, Astrid Klein und Rudolf Bonvie eigenständige künstlerische Ansätze, die sich bereits Ende der 1960er-Jahre mit Identitäts- und Geschlechterfragen auseinandersetzten. Zeitgleich schuf in Düsseldorf Katharina Sieverding ihre feministisch geprägte Kunst.

 

Installationsansicht "Empore"

 

Zentrale Positionen aller drei Generationen sowie Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede der künstlerischen Ansätze sollen erstmals aufgezeigt, vor allem aber auch bisher weniger betrachtete Positionen in diesem Kontext präsentiert und diskutiert und die Entwicklung einer künstlerischen Fotografie im Gebiet Rhein/Ruhr nachgezeichnet werden.

 

"So gut ist die Szene der Fotokunst an Rhein und Ruhr"

Stefan Lüddemann, Neue Osnabrücker Zeitung

 

Installationsansicht "Empore"

 

Die Kunsthalle Düsseldorf zeigte bereits 1969 eine Ausstellung von Bernd und Hilla Becher unter dem Titel „Anonyme Skulpturen“ oder 1998 eine große Solo-Ausstellung mit Arbeiten von Andreas Gursky. Daran anknüpfend mit deutlichem Fokus auf die künstlerische Fotografie erforscht SUBJEKT und OBJEKT. FOTO RHEIN RUHR die unterschiedlichen Experimentierfelder des Mediums zwischen Subjekt und Objekt.


Installationsansicht "Seitenlichtsaal", Foto: Katja Illner

 

Seit den 1920er-Jahren entsteht nicht nur in Deutschland ein visuell eindringlicher Geist des Erfassens von Wirklichkeit mithilfe des Mediums Fotografie, in dem immer noch die elementaren Fragen nach der Bedeutung und dem Sinn des vermeintlich realen Abbilds an sich gestellt werden - gerade auch in Bezug auf das Aufkommen der digitalen Fotografie und ihrer Manipulationsmöglichkeiten des Realen.

 

Das Kuratoren Team bei der Besprechung des Hängeplans

 

"Der großdimmensionierte Katalog ist eine hervorragende Billanz einer künstlerischen Epoche in Deutschland, die bisher noch keine angemessene Berücksichtigung erfahren hat, mit vielen Quellenzitaten. Ein schwarzes Loch ist geschlossen.

Unbedingt sehenswert!"

Klaus Honnef

 

Der Katalog zur Ausstellung ist erschienen bei Koenig Books.

 

Künstler*innen:

Mit Gosbert Adler, Alexander Basile, Lothar Baumgarten, Bernd & Hilla Becher, Max Beck, Boris Becker, Laurenz Berges, Eva Bertram, Anna + Bernhard Blume, Rudolf Bonvie, Natascha Borowsky, Wendelin Bottländer, Frank Breuer, Joachim Brohm, Ralf Brueck, Susanne Brügger, Louisa Clement, Volker Döhne, Sabine Dusend, Christine Erhard, Jan Paul Evers, Julian Faulhaber, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Annette Frick, Bernhard Fuchs, André Gelpke, Edith Glischke, Philipp Goldbach, Stefanie Grebe, Andreas Gursky, Willy Gursky, Beate Gütschow, Jitka Hanzlová, Volker Heinze, Katlen Hewel, Candida Höfer, Axel Hütte, Arno Jansen, Bernd Jansen, Irmel Kamp, Jürgen Klauke, Astrid Klein, Fatih Kurceren, Alwin Lay, Tamara Lorenz, Knut Wolfgang Maron, Meisterklasse Timm Rautert 2005 (Frank Berger, Viktoria Binschtok, Kristleifur Björnsson, Florian Ebner, Ulrich Gebert, Göran Gnaudschun, Falk Haberkorn, Sven Johne, Stephanie Kiwitt, Alexej Meschtschanow, Ricarda Roggan, Adrian Sauer, Dirk Scheidt, Linda Weiss, Tobias Zielony), Klaus Mettig, Peter Miller, Christopher Muller, Angela Neuke, Thomas Neumann, Simone Nieweg, Elisabeth Neudörfl, Detlef Orlopp, Peter Piller, Johannes Post, Timm Rautert, Max Regenberg, Johanna Reich, Heinrich Riebesehl, Sebastian Riemer, Andrea Robbins + Max Becher, Alexander Romey, Tata Ronkholz, Martin Rosswog, Thomas Ruff, Gregor Sailer, Jörg Sasse, Martina Sauter, Morgaine Schäfer, Michael Schmidt, Stefan Schneider, Berit Schneidereit, Ursula Schulz-Dornburg, Wilhelm Schürmann, Helmut Schweizer, Katharina Sieverding, Otto Steinert, Thomas Struth, Anett Stuth, Niklas Taleb, Peter Thomann, Anna Vogel, Walter Vogel, Malte Wandel, Moritz Wegwerth, Christoph Westermeier, Christopher Williams, Petra Wittmar, Lothar Wolleh, Martin Zellerhoff

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram