Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation


Exhibition:

Joel Meyerowitz Retrospective

NRW-FORUM Düsseldorf
Sept. 27th 2014 - Jan. 11th 2015


The IKS is pleased to announce the first retrospective exhibition of American photographer in Germany at the NRW-Forum Duesseldorf, which is curated and organized by Ralph Goertz, director of the IKS. In 2015 the exhibition was presented as a second venue at the Kunst Haus Vienna (co-curated Kunst Haus Vienna: Verena Kasper-Eisert).

 

 

1500 visitors at the opening weekend

 

The exhibition "Joel Meyerowitz Retrospective" was organized in cooperation with the cultural department of the city of Duesseldorf and the artist. With more than 260 works this retrospective is still the biggest presentation of him. Joel Meyerowitz counts next to William Eggeleston and Stephen Shore to the most important representatives of the "New Color Photography" movement. On all in all 1200 square meter, we presented works from the last 50 years and seperated them into two sections: "Europe" and "USA".

 

 

 

 

Joel, who was the master of "street photography" since the 1960s, got international attention through his ground breaking series of "Cape Light", in which he presented his achromatic observations of the light with his 8x10 camera. The book is stil an icon for following generations af photographers.

 

 

 

"This is the best presentation of my work, that I have ever seen!"

    Joel Meyerowitz

 

A major turning point in his artistic career was using the old wooden Deardorff 8x10 camera at Cape Cod starting in the 1970s. With this static technic he started to study the light as a subject. One of his most wanted subjects are hotel pools around the magic hour. These photographs made in Provincetown or Florida are among his most clearly composed recordings in combination with a distinctive color.

 

 

 

The exhibition reflects the entire artistic development of the photographer and presents for the first time the 40 rare vintage prints of his series "From a moving car", which he exhibited for the first time at the Museum of Modern Art in New York in 1968. In addition to his photographs from Europe (1966/67), his famous street recordings from the 1960s and 1970s, his series of "Ground Zero", the exhibition also shows his current still life, with which he has been busy since his move to Tuscany in 2012.

 

 

 

As part of the marketing strategie, Joel Meyerowitz was asked for a commercial fashion shooting by Breuninger, which took place in Berlin.

 

 

Joel Meyerowitz together with Ralph Goertz, curator of the exhibition.

 

 

Exclusive Editions

 

The IKS and Joel Meyerowitz have selected three of his most popular photographs to sell them as an edition of 50 each. The photographs are in their original vintage dimensions of 35,56 x 24,39 cm or 35,56 x 27,94 cm and were printed as C-Prints at the HSL lab in Duesseldorf. More informations you will find in our section "Editions / Catalogues"!


Edition 1: Gold Corner, New York City, 1974


Edition 2: Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, 1977


Edition 3: Wyoming, 1964

 

Publication:

The exhibition will be accompanied by the publication "Joel Meyerowitz Retrospective", edited by Ralph Goertz, with texts by Jörg Sasse, Joel Meyerowitz and Ralph Goertz. Published by D.A.P. New York.

ISBN Softcover german/english: 978-3-86335-588-3. ISBN Hardcover english: 978-938922-70-1.

 

© Joel Meyerowitz

Installation shots: Dirk Rose © IKS-Medienarchiv

photos: Isabel Hernandez © IKS-Medienarchiv

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram

Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation


Ausstellung:

Joel Meyerowitz Retrospective

NRW-Forum Düsseldorf
27. Sept. 2014 - 11. Jan. 2015


Das IKS präsentierte 2014 die erste Retrospektive in Deutschland des amerikanischen Fotografen Joel Meyerowitz im NRW-Forum Düsseldorf. Kuratiert und organisiert wird die Ausstellung von Ralph Goertz, dem Direktor des IKS. 2015 wurde die Ausstellung in leicht abgewandelter Form im Kunst Haus Wien (Co-Kuratorin Kunst Haus Wien: Verena Kaspar-Eisert) präsentiert.

 

 

1500 BESUCHER AM ERÖFFNUNGSWOCHENENDE

 

Diese Ausstellung, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kulturdezernat der Stadt Düsseldorf und dem Künstler entstand, war mit seinen 260 Fotografien seine bislang größte Retrospektive. Joel Meyerowitz gehört neben William Eggleston und Stephen Shore zu den wichtigsten Vertretern der "New Color Photography". Auf insgesamt 1200 Quadratmetern wurden Arbeiten aus 50 Jahren gezeigt und in zwei Kategorien "Europa" und "USA" unterteilt.

 

 

 


International bekannt wurde Joel Meyerowitz, der seit den 1960er Jahren als Meister der "Street Photography" gilt, durch seine bahnbrechende Serie von "Cape Light", in denen er die achromatischen Aberationen des Lichts mit seiner 8x10 Kamera einfing. Dieses Buch gilt heute als Wegweiser und Referenz für nachfolgende Künstlergenereationen.

 

 

 

"Dies ist die beste Präsentation meiner Arbeit, die ich je gesehen habe!"  Joel Meyerowitz

 

Ende der 1970er Jahre begann Joel Meyerwitz am Cape Cod erstmals eine Deardorff 8x10 Plattenkamera einzusetzen. Mit dieser für ihn ungewohnt statischen Technik begann er seine Untersuchungen des Lichts. Eines seiner immer wieder gern fotografierten Motive waren Hotelpools in Provincetown und später auch in Florida. Diese Aufnahmen zählen zu seinen am klarsten komponierten Aufnahmen in Verbindung mit einer unverwechselbaren Farbigkeit.

 

 

 

Die Ausstellung zeichnet die gesamte künstlerische Entwicklung des Fotografen nach und präsentiert erstmals die 40 seltenen Vintage Prints seiner Serie "From a moving car", die er 1968 zum ersten Mal im Museum of Modern Art in New York zeigte. Neben seinen Aufnahmen aus Europa (1966/67), seinen berühmten Straßenaufnahmen aus den 1960er und 70er Jahren, seiner Serie von "Ground Zero", zeigt die Ausstellung aber auch seine aktuellen Stillleben, mit denen er sich seit seinem Umzug in die Toskana 2012 beschäftigt.

 

 


Im Rahmen der Ausstellung wurde ein kommerzielles Modeschooting von Joel Meyerowitz mit Breuninger vereinbart, das auf den Straßen von Berlin stattfand.



Joel Meyerowitz zusammen mit dem Kurator der Ausstellung, Ralph Goertz

 


 

Exklusive Editionen

 

Das IKS bietet zusammen mit Joel Meyerowitz im Rahmen seiner Retrospektive im NRW-Forum exklusiv drei seiner beliebtesten Motive in einer limitierten Auflage von je 50 Prints an. Alle drei Motive sind im original Vintagemaß 35,56 x 24,39 cm bzw. 35,56 x 27,94 cm (Bildmaß) als C-Print bei HSLdigital in Düsseldorf geprintet worden. Mehr Informationen finden Sie unter "Editionen / Kataloge"!

Edition 1: Gold Corner, New York City, 1974

 


Edition 2: Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, 1977


Edition 3: Wyoming, 1964

 

Katalog:

Begleitend zur Ausstellung erscheint die Publikation "Joel Meyerowitz Retrospective", herausgegeben von Ralph Goertz, mit Texten von Werner Spies, Joel Meyerowitz und Ralph Goertz im Verlag Walther König.

ISBN Softcover deutsch/englisch: 978-3-86335-588-3. ISBN Hardcover englisch: 978-938922-70-1.

 

© Joel Meyerowitz

Installationsfotos: Dirk Rose © IKS-Medienarchiv

Fotos: Isabel Hernandez © IKS-Medienarchiv

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram