Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation

Martin Klimas




Düsseldorf-based photographer Martin Klimas deals with scientific phenomena in his photographic works and applies them, among other things, in his high-speed photography, in which breathtaking photos of bursting flower vases are created.
We met the photographer during the first Lockdown in March 2020 in his Düsseldorf studio and gallery Cosar HMT, where he previously presented his exhibition "More than meets the Eye" (16.11.2019 - 08.01.2020). Thank you!
The film was also made with the kind support of Hengeler Mueller.

 

Martin Klimas at his Düsseldorf studio


"Flowervases: perfectly arranged flower vases are shot through with steel bullets and depicted at the moment of their destruction. Hit by projectiles, glass vases shatter, ceramic and earthenware vessels collapse. Klimas is not so much interested in the fact of destruction, but rather in the transformation that takes place in a 7000th of a second. While in the upper half of the picture the composition still appears absolutely harmonious, chaos already reigns in the lower half. The contrast of static and highest dynamics bursts the clichédness of the subject "flower vase". The parallelism of two states and the unreal tranquility of the images draw the viewer under their spell."

website of the artist

 

Martin Klimas at his Galery Cosar HMT

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram

Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation

Martin Klimas




Der Düsseldorfer Fotograf Martin Klimas beschäftigt sich in seinen fotografischen Arbeiten mit wissenschaftlichen Phenomenen und wendet diese u.a. in seiner High-Speed-Fotografie an, in der atemberaubende Fotos zerplatzender Blumenvasen entstehen.
Wir trafen den Fotografen während des ersten Lockdowns im März 2020 in seinem Düsseldorfer Studio und der Galerie Cosar HMT, wo er zuvor seine Ausstellung "More than meets the Eye" (16.11.2019 – 08.01.2020) präsentierte. Danke!
Der Film entstand auch mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Hengeler Mueller.

 

Martin Klimas in seinem Düsseldorfer Studio

 

"Flowervases: Perfekt arrangierte Blumenvasen werden mit Stahlkugeln durchschossen und im Moment ihrer Zerstörung abgebildet. Von Projektilen getroffen, zersplittern Glasvasen, Keramik- und Steingutgefäße sacken in sich zusammen. Dabei interessiert sich Klimas nicht so sehr für die Tatsache der Zerstörung, sondern vielmehr für die sich in einer 7000stel Sekunde vollziehende Transformation. Während in der oberen Bildhälfte die Komposition noch absolut harmonisch erscheint, herrscht im unteren schon das Chaos. Der Gegensatz von Statik und höchster Dynamik sprengt die Klischeehaftigkeit des Sujets »Blumenvase«. Die Parallelität zweier Zustände und die unwirkliche Ruhe der Bilder ziehen den Betrachter in ihren Bann." website des Künstlers

 

Martin Klimas in der Galerie Cosar HMT

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram