Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation

Bieke Depoorter




Bieke Depoorter was born in Kortrijk, Belgium in 1986. She studied photography at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Ghent, where she graduated with a Master's degree in 2009. Three years later, at the age of only 25, she was nominated by Magnum Photos and elected a full member in 2016. Depoorter has received several awards and honors, including the Magnum Expression Award, the Larry Sultan Award, and the Prix Levallois.

 

 

Bieke Depoorter represents the young generation of photo artists who are questioning the media of photography.

 

INSTAGRAM VIDEO

 

How close can a photographer get to the people they portray? What is their role with regards to their subject, and what responsibility do they assume? Bieke Depoorter’s artistic work is based on her relationships with people and her own position as a photographer. From November 22, 2019 to February 16, 2020, the NRW-Forum Düsseldorf is showing the most comprehensive solo exhibition to date of the Belgian Magnum photographer’s work in Germany. Comprising five series from 2015 to 2019, the exhibition presents the photographer, who was born in Belgium in 1986, as an artist at a turning point in her career.

 

Bieke Depoorter: FRANCE. Paris. November 2, 2017. Agata. © Bieke Depoorter / Magnum Photos

 

Depoorter explores current social issues and questions her role as a photographer, as well as the limits of her medium, across five topical projects, some of which are ongoing. The points of departure are often chance encounters with people, some of whom she then accompanies for years, exploring how and whether one can capture a person through the means of photography, as well as how to achieve true collaboration.

 

Ralph Goertz met the artist for an interview while she was doing the setup of her show "Bieke Depoorter. 2015-2019" at NRW-Forum Duesseldorf.

 

Bieke Depoorter: USA, Portland, Oregon, May 2015. Michael. © Bieke Depoorter / Magnum Photos

 

The exhibition begins with works from 2015, shortly before Bieke Depoorter was named as the youngest photographer to become a full member of the renowned photographers’ agency, Magnum Photos at that time. It illustrates how her working methods changed dramatically during this period and continue to change to this day. Night and moments in which nobody seems to be watching remain her central themes. Today, however, the focus is increasingly on aesthetic, ethical, and social questions, as well as Depoorter’s never-ending search for answers. The current series represent the artist’s exploration of the intrinsic essence of her work and a search for her role as a photographer, as well as for dialogue and cooperation with the people she portrays. As a photographer she increasingly sees herself as an outsider, but also as an artist searching for ways to bridge the gap between her and the people she photographs. It is often these joint narratives of the photographer and her subjects that ultimately form the works.

 

Bieke Depoorter: EGYPT. Al-Mahalla al-Kubra. Al-Gharbiya. November 2015. © Bieke Depoorter / Magnum Photos

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram

Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation

Bieke Depoorter




Bieke Depoorter wurde 1986 in Kortrijk, Belgien, geboren. Sie hat Fotografie an der Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Gent studiert, wo sie 2009 den Master-Abschluss erwarb. Drei Jahre später, im Alter von nur 25 Jahren, wurde sie von Magnum Photos nominiert, 2016 zum ordentlichen Mitglied ernannt. Depoorter hat mehrere Auszeichnungen und Ehrungen erhalten, darunter den Magnum Expression Award, den Larry Sultan Award und den Prix Levallois.

 

 

Bieke Depoorter gehört zu der jungen Generation von Fotografinnen, die sich mit dem Medium intensiv auseinandersetzen.

 

INSTAGRAM VIDEO

 

Wie nah kann eine Fotografin den Menschen kommen, die sie porträtiert? Welche Rolle nimmt sie ihnen gegenüber ein und welche Verantwortung übernimmt sie? Die Beziehungen zu den Menschen und ihre eigene Position darin als Fotografin bilden die Grundlage der künstlerischen Arbeit von Bieke Depoorter. Die  deutschlandweit bisher umfassendste Einzelausstellung umfasst fünf Serien aus den Jahren 2015 bis 2019 und präsentiert die 1986 in Belgien geborene Fotografin als eine Künstlerin am Wendepunkt ihrer Karriere.

 

Bieke Depoorter: FRANCE. Paris. November 2, 2017. Agata. © Bieke Depoorter / Magnum Photos

 

In fünf aktuellen, teils fortlaufenden Projekten setzt sich Depoorter mit gegenwärtigen gesellschaftlichen Themen auseinander und hinterfragt ihre Rolle als Fotografin sowie die Grenzen ihres Mediums. Ausgangspunkt sind oft zufällige Begegnungen mit Menschen, die sie dann teilweise über Jahre begleitet und sich mit den Fragen auseinandersetzt, ob und wie man einen Menschen mithilfe der Fotografie erfassen und wie dabei echte Zusammenarbeit gelingen kann.

 

Ralph Goertz traf die Künstlerin zum Interview in Vorbereitung zu ihrer Ausstellung "Bieke Depoorter. 2015-2019" im NRW-Forum Düsseldorf.

 

Bieke Depoorter: USA, Portland, Oregon, May 2015. Michael. © Bieke Depoorter / Magnum Photos

 

Anfangspunkt der Ausstellung sind Arbeiten von 2015, kurz bevor Bieke Depoorter als zu der Zeit jüngste Fotografin zum Vollmitglied der renommierten Agentur Magnum Photo ernannt wurde. Die Ausstellung zeigt auf, wie sich ihre Arbeitsweise in dieser Zeit und bis heute fortlaufend und dramatisch verändert hat. Wichtige Sujets sind nach wie vor die Nacht und Momente, in denen niemand zu beobachten scheint. Im Vordergrund stehen heute aber vermehrt ästhetische, ethische und soziale Fragen sowie Depoorters nie abgeschlossene Suche nach Antworten. Die aktuellen Serien sind eine Auseinandersetzung der Künstlerin mit dem Wesenhaften ihrer Arbeit und eine Suche nach ihrer Rolle als Fotografin, nach Dialog und Kooperation mit den Menschen, die sie porträtiert. Sie versteht sich als Fotografin immer mehr als Außenseiterin, aber auch als Künstlerin, die nach Wegen sucht, die Lücke zwischen ihr und den Menschen, die sie fotografiert, zu schließen. Oft sind es am Ende gemeinsame Erzählungen von Fotografin und Porträtierten, die in die Arbeiten eingehen.

 

Bieke Depoorter: EGYPT. Al-Mahalla al-Kubra. Al-Gharbiya. November 2015. © Bieke Depoorter / Magnum Photos

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram