Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation

Virginia Lee Montgomery




In the series 6 ½ Weeks Museum Folkwang presents from 9 May till 23 June 2019 the first institutional solo show by Virginia Lee Montgomery (born 1986) to be held in Europe. Her video piece PONY HOTEL (2018) brings together symbolically charged elements in various combinations and interactions that open up a multitude of associations: a hand with manicured finger Danish pastry, white syrup drops onto a watch, braids in several variations – sometimes made of blond or coloured strands, other times suspended as if bodiless – develop a life of their own.

The pony tail is the key protagonist in PONY HOTEL and simultaneously visualizes an actual aspect of Montgomery’s own work. Aside from her work as an artist Montgomery freelances as a graphic facilitator and travels throughout the United States to conferences where she provides the live visualization. She often uses the hotel room she stays in as the setting for her videos. Then in the studio in a fast edit she combines the sequences with an unusual soundtrack that consists of a mixture of background noises and sounds from nature. The resulting interplay of audio and visual elements produces an enigmatic, surreal atmosphere.

 

In Museum Folkwang Virginia Lee Montgomery combines her work with a sculpture from the collection: A superficial interest in flowing, pouring out and spilling liquids provides a link between George Minne’s L’homme à l’outre (Man with Wineskin, 1897) and PONY HOTEL, without detracting from the manifold levels of meaning in the dripping, flowing, spurting liquids. Notwithstanding the different epochs, styles and media involved in the dialogue between the two works an interplay is created that is characterized by our search for the hidden meaning of things.

 

We made an interview with the artist and were asked to produce the exhibition trailer.

 

Foto: Isabel Hernandez © IKS-Medienarchiv

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram

Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation

Virginia Lee Montgomery




In der Reihe 6 ½ Wochen zeigt das Museum Folkwang vom 9. Mai bis 23. Juni 2019 die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung von Virginia Lee Montgomery (*1986) in Europa. Ihre Videoarbeit PONY HOTEL (2018) führt symbolisch aufgeladene Elemente zusammen, deren Kombinationen und Interaktionen eine Vielzahl von Assoziationen eröffnen: eine Hand mit manikürten Fingernägeln durchstößt ein Plunderstückchen, weißer Sirup tropft auf eine Armbanduhr, Zöpfe in verschiedenen Variationen – mal blond oder aus bunten Strähnen geflochten, mal körperlos schwebend – entwickeln ein Eigenleben.

Der Pferdeschwanz ist Protagonist in PONY HOTEL und visualisiert gleichzeitig eine autobiografische Auseinandersetzung der Künstlerin. Neben ihrer künstlerischen Tätigkeit arbeitet Montgomery als Graphic Facilitator und reist für Live-Visualisierungen von Konferenzen durch die USA. Die dabei bezogenen Hotelzimmer dienen oftmals als Setting ihrer Videos. Im Studio kombiniert sie die Sequenzen in schnellem Schnitt mit einer eigenwilligen Tonspur, die aus einer Mischung von Natur- und Hintergrundgeräuschen besteht. Im audiovisuellen Zusammenspiel entsteht eine rätselhafte, surreale Atmosphäre.

 

Im Museum Folkwang kombiniert Virginia Lee Montgomery ihre Arbeit mit einer Skulptur aus der Sammlung: Ein vordergründiges Interesse am Fließenden, am Aus- und Vergießen, verbindet George Minnes L’homme à l’outre (Knabe mit Schlauch, 1897) mit PONY HOTEL, ohne die Vielzahl an Bedeutungsebenen der tropfenden, fließenden, spritzenden Flüssigkeiten zu schmälern. Im Dialog beider Werke entsteht über Zeiten, Stile und Medien hinweg ein Spannungsfeld, das von der Suche nach dem verborgenen Sinn der Dinge geprägt ist.

 

Wir trafen die Künstlerin zum Interview und durften den offiziellen Ausstellungstrailer produzieren.

 

Foto: Isabel Hernandez © IKS-Medienarchiv

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram