Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation

Candida Höfer




The German photographer Candida Höfer is one of the most significant German artists. She first studied film at the Düsseldorf Art Academy with Ole John and since 1976 photography with Bernd Becher. Together with Thomas Struth, Andreas Gursky and Thomas Ruff she was part of the so-called "Becher class".

 

Candida Höfer became internationally known for her sensitive and silent photographs of museums, libraries and public interiors. Her early work groups such as "Liverpool" from 1968 or "Turks in Germany", which was created between 1972 and 1979, are also impressive.

 

In 2009 the Museum Morsbroich in Leverkusen dedicated a retrospective to Candida Höfer, which - in addition to 14 completed projects - has also shown her latest project as a collaboration with the architects Kuehn Malvezzi. In 2013 the Kunstpalast in Düsseldorf set up a retrospective that focused on early works and the region around Düsseldorf. In addition the exhibition also presented her new, abstraction-oriented photographs.

 

"Candida Höfer - Sense of Space" online available!


Candida Höfer at her Foundation

 

Candida Höfer at Museum Morsbroich, 2009

 

 

 

Candida Höfer with Beat Wismer during the set up at Kunstpalast

 

Filmmaker and curator Ralph Goertz has had the privilege of accompanying Candida Höfer in various shootings since 2003, during the construction of her retrospectives in Leverkusen and Düsseldorf, and in her studio in Cologne. The documentary "Candida Höfer - Sense of Space" (50min.), which was shown at international film festivals in Toronto, Calgary and Dublin, as well as at the Ballarat Foto Biennale, is available online on vimeo. The DVD of the film has been published by Walther König.

 


Photos: Ralph Goertz © IKS-Medienarchiv

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram

Institut für
Kunstdokumentation und
Szenografie
Navigation

Candida Höfer




Die deutsche Fotografin Candida Höfer gehört zu den wichtigsten Deutschen Künstlerinnen. Sie studierte zuerst Film an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf bei Ole John und seit 1976 Fotografie bei Bernd Becher. Zusammen mit Thomas Struth, Andreas Gursky und Thomas Ruff war sie Teil der sogenannten "Becher-Klasse".

 

Candida Höfer wurde vor allem mit ihren sensiblen und stillen Fotografien von Museen, Bibliotheken und öffentlichen Innenräumen international bekannt. Besonders eindringlich sind aber auch ihre frühen Werkgruppen wie "Liverpool" von 1968 oder "Türken in Deutschland" die zwischen 1972 und 1979 entstand.

 

Das Museum Morsbroich in Leverkusen widmete 2009 Candida Höfer eine Retrospektive, die, neben 14 abgschlossenen Projekten, auch ihr neustes Projekt als Zusammenarbeit mit den Architekten Kuehn Malvezzi zeigt. Im Jahr 2013 richtete der Kunstpalast in Düsseldorf der Künstlerin eine Retrospektive ein, die ihren Fokus auf das Frühwerk und Düsseldorf konzentrierte. Darüber hinaus zeigte es aber auch ihre neuen, in die Abstraktion weisenden Aufnahmen.


"Candida Höfer - Sense of Space" online verfügbar!

Candida Höfer in ihrer Stiftung
 

Candida Höfer im Museum Morsbroich, 2009

 

 

 

Candida Höfer mit Beat Wismer beim Aufbau der Ausstellung im Kunstpalast, 2013

 

Filmemacher und Kurator Ralph Goertz durfte Candida Höfer seit 2003 bei verschiedenen Shootings, während des Aufbaus ihrer Retrospektiven in Leverkusen und Düsseldorf sowie in ihrem Studio in Köln filmisch begleiten. Der Dokumentarfilm "Candida Höfer - Sense of Space" (50min.), der auf internationalen Filmfestivals in Toronto, Calgary und Dublin, sowie auf der Ballarat Foto Biennale gezeigt wurde, ist online bei vimeo erhältlich. Die DVD des Films ist im Verlag Walther König erschienen.

 

Fotos: Ralph Goertz © IKS-Medienarchiv

facebook youtube Vimeo Instagram